Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of individuals with expertise in macular degeneration, biotechnology, the pharmaceutical industry, innovation and technology. The Executive Committee serves as advisors to the Leadership Committee and helps to assess Center performance.

Leadership Committee

The Leadership Committee manages the RFSW – SMU partnership by prioritizing clinical challenge areas and identifying technical contributors to participate in the innovation brainstorm sessions and research projects.

Karl Csaky, M.D., Ph.D.


Read More

Marc Christensen, Ph.D.


Read More

David Birch, Ph.D.

Read More

Jim Quick, Ph.D.

Read More


Individuals from RFSW’s Molecular Ophthalmology Lab and Clinical Research Lab provide input for our partners at SMU on the challenges we face with AMD.

Cindy Baillie

Project Manager

Kimberly Cummings

Clinical Research Coordinator

Ruvanthi Kularatne, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Chandima Bulumulla, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Tim Catchpole, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Alison Takacs

Senior Research Associate

Timothy Nguyen

Research Assistant

Alexa Gilfoyle

Research Assistant I

Renee Denlar

Clinical Research Assistant

SMU Investigators

Researchers from across SMU’s campus that are selected to participate in a partnership with RFSW clinicians and researchers to innovate solutions for AMD.

David Son, Ph.D.

Read More

Nick Tsarevsky, Ph.D.

Read More

Paul Krueger, Ph.D.

Read More

Yildirim Hurmuzlu, Ph.D.

Read More

Ping Gui, Ph.D.

Read More

SMU Innovation Team

This team from SMU’s Caruth Institute for Engineering Education facilitates and refines the innovation process by which we are approaching medical research in AMD.

Gray Garmon

Read More

Center Operations & Development Team

This team manages the operations and development for the Clinical Center of Innovation for AMD.

Amy Lobner

Development & Program Specialist

Vanessa Peterson

Assistant Development Manager

Jean Buys

Executive Director, Retina Foundation of the Southwest

Contact Us

Enter your email address to be contacted by our Clinical Center of Innovation for Age-Related Macular Degeneration staff.